Ras Stage 5

Corkery claims the yellow jersey

Finn Crockett of Derry: Foyle CC won today’s FBD Insurance sponsored stage 5 after proving fastest in a breakaway sprint victory after 133.4km of racing. Second over the line was Jack Crook of UK: Trek Richardson followed by Matthew Fox of Wheelbase Cabtech Castelli. It was a sensational day for the general classification as Dillon Corkery of Team Ireland who finished 5th today gained more than 2 minutes on the Bective Stud yellow jersey Conor McGoldrick of UK: Trek Richardson. As a result, Dillion Corkery captured overall Rás Tailteann victory today followed by Cormac McGeough of US: Good Guys Racing in second and Conor McGoldrick of UK: Trek Richardson in third. Conor McGoldrick is the winner of the Cycling Ireland KoH classification, while the City Break Apartments points classification was won by Matthew Fox of Wheelbase Cabtech Castelli following his placing today. JB Murphy of
Cycling Leinster was first county rider home today and winner of the Festina County Rider award. Conn McDunphy of Cycling Leinster is winner of the Sport Ireland county rider jersey. Aaron Wade of Team Ireland is winner of the Spin 11 U23 classification.